20 Things You Didn’t Know About the Collins Brothers

The Collins brothers, Matthias and Collin, are performers known across the globe for their talent in acrobatics and their side-splitting humor. The duo currently appears in Maestro's Menagerie with Teatro ZinZanni. Photo by Ralf Kruse 11/17/2005

The Collins brothers (Matthias Fisherand Collin Eschenburg) are recognized for their slapstick humor and acrobatic talent all the way from the WinterGarten Variete Theater in Berlin, across the world to the Big Apple Circus in New York. The duo currently performs in Maestro’s Menagerie with Teatro ZinZanni in Seattle. The brothers agreed to answer questions asked by Jennifer Watkins, the Marketing Assistant at Teatro ZinZanni, to provide this insightful biographical collage. Here are 20 Things You Didn’t Know About The Collins Brothers.

20 Things You Didn’t Know About The Collins Brothers


1. Where did you study?

C:  We both studied at the Artists School of Berlin.

M:  That’s where we first met, about 25 years ago.


2. What were you both working on before you collaborated your acts?

C: I’m a comedian, so I was working on that.

M: I was a juggler, but I was a bad juggler, so it’s good that we got together.


3. What is your favorite food?

C: Steak and potatoes. I hate salad.

M: Kaiser Schmarren. It’s an Austrian dessert.


4. Did you play sports?

C: I wrestled.

M: He was titled the East German Wrestling Master!


5. What is a pet-peeve of yours?

C: That the bars in Seattle only stay open until 2 a.m.

M: When people use lawn mowers and leaf blowers outside my window when I’m trying to sleep.


6. What time do you usually wake up?

C: Usually around 1 p.m., but that’s because I go to bed at 4 a.m.

M: But we’ve been waking up around 10:30 a.m. recently because of the World Cup.


7. What World Cup team are you rooting for?

C: Germany of course!

M: Yes, Germany. But I also like Japan’s team. They’re very fast.


8. What was your first job?

M: We both performed professionally for the first time at the Palast der Republik in Berlin. It was a disco… I chased a monkey.

C: I was the break-dancing monkey.


9. When you were younger, what did you want to be?

C: I wanted to be a jockey, or a movie star.

M: I’m doing it right now! I never feel like I’m working for money, and that’s ideal for me.


10. What kind of movies do you like?

C: I like sci-fi movies.

M: I like anything with Tom Hanks.


11. You are both from Germany, do you both have family that still live there?

C: We have lots of friends that live there.

M: Our friends are very much like our family.


12. What kind of music do you listen to?

C: I like 80’s music.

M: I like a lot of Seattle bands like “Bear in Heaven.”


13. Are you really brothers?

C: No, we’re not really brothers.

M: We are like brothers in many ways, just not blood related.


14. What languages do you speak?

C: English, Russian and German.

M: Yes, all of those, and a little French.


15. What karaoke song do you usually sing?

C: I do Rammstein’s 99 Red Balloons… in German!

M: I usually just watch!


16. Name something you like.

C: For a sport, I like basketball.

M: In Seattle, I really enjoyed the Folklife Festival.


17. What do you like about Teatro ZinZanni?

C: I like that we are able to change our characters and develop our act.

M: Teatro ZinZanni is very different from the theatres in Europe. We are both comedians, and here it is more about the story and the characters. In Europe, it is more about the food.


18. Where are some places you have performed?

C: We’ve done the Wintergarten in Berlin, and the Big Apple Circus in New York.

M: We’ve also done the Fringe Festival in Edinburgh, Palazzo in Vienna and Munich, and of course, Teatro ZinZanni.


19. Of all the places you’ve performed, where has been your favorite?

C: I enjoyed New York and England and Denmark.  They have good audiences.

M:  It’s important to have good audiences. It was difficult performing in Asia because it is such a different culture. The translation is not always there.


20. You’ve been a lot of places, but where in the world would you still like to travel to?

M:  For us it is not so much about traveling to famous cities and destinations that other people have deemed special. We’ve travelled a lot in our careers and that gets difficult. So for us, we’re happy wherever we are as long as we’re surrounded by honest, good people. That’s where we like to be.


By Jennifer Watkins

One comment on “20 Things You Didn’t Know About the Collins Brothers

  1. […] aerial duoThe Collins Brothers (not actually brothers) are certain to please and […]

Leave a Reply

