25 Things You Didn’t Know About TZ’s Backstage Managers

Teatro ZinZanni’s resident Backstage Managers, Anne Gish and Bradford Schroeder, sat down to tackle the now infamous “25 Things You Didn’t Know About Me” interview. Both originally from the Midwest, they migrated to Seattle to pursue higher education and adventure. Read on to learn some interesting facts about these two incredibly hard-working and endearing co-workers.

1. Where did you grow up?

Anne Gish (A): Minneapolis. I moved to Seattle after high school to attend college at University of Puget Sound in Tacoma where I got a degree in Theatre Arts.

Bradford Schroeder (B): I’m from La Crosse, Wisconsin. I came to Seattle after college for a change of scene.

2. What’s your favorite food?

A: I don’t have a favorite food, I like so many things, but I can tell you what I hate… fruit desserts.

B: I like trying a lot of new things but my go-to dish is a salad with tomato and avocado or a frozen pizza.

3. What’s one of your secret obsessions?

A: Books about diseases like the plague.

B: YouTube videos of old variety shows… anything with Judy Garland, Joan Crawford or Sonny and Cher.

4. What’s your favorite book?

A: Lés Miserables by Victor Hugo.

B: Charlotte’s Web.

5. What other languages do you speak besides English?

A: I can speak moderate French, but my French reading comprehension is really good.

B: I can speak some French too. You pick up a lot of it working backstage with the cast.

6. What was the last movie you saw?

A: I watch a lot of documentaries.

B: I just watched “A Single Man.”

7. What do you do in your free time?

A: I read a lot.

B: I like to garden. I always have a lot of fresh vegetables.

8. What is your favorite spot in Seattle?

A: Either Golden Gardens or Kerry Park in Queen Anne.

B: There’s a look out point by Volunteer Park and the cemetery that has an octagonal bench around a big tree. That’s my favorite.

9. What’s your biggest pet-peeve?

A: Ignorant people.

B: Liars, and people who hog the sidewalk.

10. Name three words to describe yourself.

A: Intelligent, emotional, funny.

B: Funny, kind, honest.

11. Name a secret talent you possess.

A: I tap dance. I took tap and ballet for 10 years.

B: I’m a great singer. I guess all that show choir paid off.

12. What’s your biggest fear?

A: Fire.

B: Big bodies of water. I almost drowned in Lake Michigan when I was 6.

13. Do you have any pets?

A: 2 cats; Imogen Ruth is named after a Shakespearean play and Sebastian Joe is named after an ice-cream parlor in Michigan.

B: I’m hoping to get a dog. I want a big one like a Cattle Dog or a Hound… something noble.

14. What was your first job?

A: In college I worked in the Office of the Registrar.

B: I was a stock-boy at the Shopko in Wisconsin.

15. If you could be an animal, what would you be?

A: A killer whale.

B: A Blue Heron.

16. What country would you like to visit?

A: Chilé.

B: India or Argentina.

17. What’s in your music player right now?

A: Rufus Wainwright and Tracy Chapman.

B: Edith Piaf, Smashing Pumpkins and Neko Case.

18. What’s your greatest strength?

A: Compassion.

B: My ability to listen.

19. Do you play sports?

A: I played softball in elementary school, but never actually hit the ball. I had a very good eye for strikes and balls, so I always ended up walking.

B: I ran track in 8th grade. I ran the 400 in 56 seconds, but ultimately quit for show choir.

20. What’s your passion?

A: Marine conservation.

B: Music.

21. Have you ever broken any bones?

A: I’ve broken my nose, both ankles (one of them twice), 2 toes and my cheekbone.

B: None, knock on wood. It must have been all that midwest fluoride in the water.

22. When do you normally go to bed/ wake up?

A: I’m an insomniac. I usually go to bed around 2 a.m. but then I’m up at 6 a.m. Sometimes I sleep later, but never past noon.

B: I’m usually asleep by 3 a.m. and up by 11 a.m. or noon.

23.  When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?

A: A marine biologist.

B: Liza Minnelli.

24. What’s you’re go-to karaoke song?

A: I don’t sing… I’m literally tone deaf.

B: “Heart of Glass” by Blondie and “The Crying Game” by Boy George.

25. What’s a memorable backstage moment?

A: When a performer got stuck during an illusion. It was chaos and this particular person was just hanging there sideways with no place to go.

B: I threw a performer’s diva cart into a pole and she almost broke her ankles. She was wearing these boots that station her to this cart, she couldn’t move. I was told that if she fell, she would have broken her ankles and her career would be over! So she fell off the cart, I caught her, swords went everywhere. I was mortified!

– As told to Jennifer Watkins, Teatro ZinZanni’s Marketing Associate

Leave a Reply

