Art at the Moulin Rouge Tent – Part Three

Less than two weeks until the Art at the Moulin Rouge show under the velvet-topped tent, and do we ever have a treat for you.  Aside from the spectacular artists, fabulous menu, and all the ritzy swag included with your ticket purchase, Forte Chocolates  will also be here, providing truffles to all attendees.  Art and chocolate in a speigeltent, how decadent!

Go to our website for more event details and to purchase your tickets!

Artist: Javier Ortega

Javier S. Ortega was born in Seville Spain where he was trained in sculpture in the “Escuela de Artes Aplicadas” and ceramics in the “Escuela Taller Plaza España”. After this he traveled to Florence to continue his education. Upon completion, his time was divided between the cities of Seville, Valencia and the island of Menorca before deciding to move to the city of Seattle. Here he is continuing his career with successful exhibitions in some of the cafes and galleries scattered around said city.

Find out more about Javier  from a previous interview with us here.

Artist: Su Olsen

I create unique jewelry that can be worn or displayed. My work can be seen in many galleries and museum stores across the country, including the Seattle Art Museum and Seattle Asian Art Museum. Locally you will find my jewelry at the Bainbridge Island Studio Tour, and The Island Gallery.

My jewelry is a combination of history and spirit. Thirty-five years ago, on Martha’s Vineyard, I found a lovely old strand of wooden prayer beads from Asia in an antique store. They had the beautiful patina of a well-loved piece. I enjoy working with the soft patinas of ancient and ethnographic beads and pieces that I have collected over the years in my many travels, and with traders from around the world. I feel their spiritual resonances and imagine the diverse lives they’ve been a part of.

Because of my longstanding interest in textiles, I looked for a way to blend the patinas of the beads with the textures of the cords. I use a technique created by Japanese artisans in the 7th century. Kumihimo involves weaving cords on a small loom called a marudai. 1000 years ago, the samurai used these strong cords to bind their armor together.

As a silversmith I enjoy discovering organic forms in my work…seeing where the fluidity of the metal will take me, and fabricating forms that compliment the ancient materials.

If you are looking for unusual jewelry to wear or to give, please visit my shows and see my one-of-a-kind work. I’m always exploring new ideas.

Artist: Mark Jeffries

Variety is the spice of life, so get it while you can.  Growing up in the Midwest was a lot of that. Our family lived in Indianapolis, Chicago, Detroit, and Milwaukee. An awesome opportunity to be a regular at many great fine art and natural history museums, but curiously never allowed through the hallowed doors of the local art institutions. Some of my earliest memories of art and sculpture are Monument Circle in downtown Indianapolis, Indiana. A tribute to war and hope, with enormous carved limestone figures, animals, and objects that we climbed on as kids.

While living in a downtown warehouse in Indianapolis with a great view of the city and Monument circle, sculpting in clay became my passion, and the human form my subject. At the same time I was studying perhaps, the most beautiful Rembrandt self-portrait at the Indianapolis Museum of Fine Art.  The old masters were my heroes. Travel through Mexico and Europe is such inspiration! On a visit to Cambridge University library I read  renaissance treatises on sculpture, which recommended sculpting parts of the human anatomy for years before attempting a full figure, which I followed religiously for five..  On a mission to Milwaukee, I petitioned the professors at Marquette University’s Medical college of Wisconsin, and was granted permission to audit their gross anatomy classes, for which I am very grateful.

Good luck in Milwaukee shined on me to meet two very interesting and talented mentors, a very goal oriented old school German blacksmith and a no-nonsense very happy Norwegian Sculptor. Some work came along, and the opportunity arose to study bronze casting techniques at the University of Wisconsin in Milwaukee and Platteville with some very good guys in the sculpture dept. Historic preservation work was available in Miami, Fl and for several years I worked on a wide variety projects from Palm Beach to Key West to the Dutch West Antilles.  Seattle is our current residence twenty years on with various projects realized and too many not.

Get more information or buy tickets!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 comments on “Art at the Moulin Rouge Tent – Part Three

  1. […] you have been living under a rock (ouch, why would you live there?!) or have not read previous blog posts, Teatro ZinZanni’s Moulin Rouge speigeltent will host an elegant evening with local artists […]

  2. Hi There Teatro Zinzanni Seattle,
    Speaking of which, If any one looking through this hasn’t yet viewed the movie then I suggest you go and view it now! Or if you have not looked at it recently, view it all over again! It will give you so many suggestions for great ideas.
    BTW great blogpost

  3. Nice picture of beads or charms, it is a great item to make diy jewelry. How do I get these beads or charms?

Leave a Reply

