25 Things You Didn’t Know About Recess Monkey

Kindiependent band Recess Monkey is comprised of three elementary school teachers that really rock!  They make music that sings, dances, and toe-taps its way into parents and kids hearts and tops their playlists. Recess Monkey will be performing December 22 under the tent in our wildly successful Big Top Rock series (tickets on sale now).  The triumvirate of kiddie rock sat down with us to share 25 things we did not know about them!

L-R: Jack Forman, Daron Henry, Drew Holloway

1.  If you could be any animal, what would you be and why?
Drew: An Owl. I can hardly stay up as late as my kids, I’d love to see what 10:30pm looks like! I’d also love to fly silently through the forest. I got buzzed by an owl when I was running through the woods at Ravenna-Cowen park. It took my breath away!

2.  What was the last movie you saw?
Daron: We just finished watching all of the X-men movies. Go Super Hero Mutants!

3.  How did you get into playing music for kiddos?
Jack: We’re all teachers, so we’re surrounded by kids everyday. It wasn’t long before we figured out that our day jobs and nighttime hobbies as indie-rockers could coexist! Kids are way cooler audience members than adults.

4.  If you could have any superpower, what would it be and why?
Drew: I want a time turner like Hermione had in Harry Potter. An extra hour or two added to the day is as super as things could be!

5.  What television show/s do you watch?
Daron: Top Chef. I’m amazed at how they can make you long for the food by just looking at and talking about it. I can’t wait for Smell-o-vision.

6.  What was your first job?
Jack: I made a summer’s worth of milkshakes at Kidd Valley in Bellevue… I didn’t know that it was possible to get sick of milkshakes, but six a day will do that- even if you are sixteen years old. Perchance this is the root of my lactose intolerance?

7.  If you could be anyone for one day, who would it be?
Daron: I think that it would be fun to be Oprah… YOU get a car! YOU get a car!

8.  What are you scared of?
Jack: Insects with long spindly legs and/or wings- crane flies drive me absolutely crazy. They’re so gangly! Eat a sandwich!

9.  What’s your favorite food?
Jack: No question, macaroni and cheese! One of the perks of touring as much as we do is I get to try mac and cheese from every region… and if that was really the best Mac and Cheese in Tulsa, as the server suggested, I feel a deep, deep sorrow for Tulsa. No one comes even close to Beechers’ mac and cheese in the Pike Place market!

10.  What have you always wanted to do or try?
Drew: I want to sky dive but my life insurance rate will go up!

11.  Where did you grow up?
Daron: I grew up in a small town, Jamestown, IN. (pop. 900). Both of my grandparents had farms just outside of town. It was pretty great!

12.  What’s your family like?
Drew: I live with three very fun ladies (my wife and two daughters) in a very small house! There’s always a stuffed animal puppet show, singalong or art project in the works. We’re creative, messy and loud! We like to have dinner together… we have a trio of glassy baby votive holders to help set the mood for our conversation!

13.  What’s your favorite book or author?
Jack: Definitely Trout Fishing in America by Richard Brautigan. It’s funny, observant and really, really weird… pretty much everything we aspire for our band to be.

14.  How many siblings do you have?
Daron: One, my younger sister, Caron. Even though we have rhyming names, we are not twins. Our parents just liked the sound of our names together.

15.  What would you consider as a good day?
Drew: Time for a run! And… A good talk with my oldest daughter, holding my youngest hand as we walk to school, and snuggling up to some streaming Netflix with my wife!

16.  What is your hidden talent?
Drew: Drawing, It’s not something that comes out in the band but it’s my secret weapon as a teacher at school!

17.  What’s something you dislike (activity, food, etc)?
Jack: Painting. I always seem to get more paint on me than what I was aiming for. Photoshop is a much easier way to paint.

18.  Do you have any pets?
Daron: We have a dog named Sugar. She loves to chase a tennis ball.

19.  What’s your favorite song?
Drew: Hard to choose! Maybe “Don’t Talk Put Your Head on My Shoulder” by The Beach Boys? “Mermaid Smiled” by XTC? “I’m Only Sleeping” by The Beatles?

20.  What are you most proud of?
Daron: I’m proud that I’ve been teaching for twenty years and that I’ve been with my wife for twenty-two.

21.  Chocolate, strawberry or plain milk?
Jack: Strawberry! No question. But can I trade you this strawberry milk for pumpkin pie milk? That’s a pretty good trade for you.

22.  What is your favorite toy?
Jack: My new ukulele! My wife and I are working on learning Hall and Oates’ complete catalog with ukulele-friendly chords!

23.  Do you like brussel sprouts?
Jack: YES! (though I spent 30+ years not liking them). Whenever I burn out on a food, it seems like another food that I’ve always disliked is waiting in the wings… A tough experience with tiramisu opened the door for Brussels!

24.  What is your favorite childhood memory?
Drew: Time in the car with my dad, listening to the radio or my music tapes, driving to a baseball game, ice hockey practice or a Sunday visit to my Nan’s.

25.  Have you ever tried to grow sea monkeys?  If so, were you successful?
Daron: No! But I bought a pair of X-ray glasses that were advertised right next to them in the same comic. BTW-they didn’t work.

Find out more about Recess Monkey and get your tickets to see this unforgettable band!

One comment on “25 Things You Didn’t Know About Recess Monkey

  1. […] religiously, a brief synopsis: Four awesome kiddie-mosh pit concerts featuring Caspar Babypants, Recess Monkey, and The […]

Leave a Reply

